At Home Resources

At home resources

 

While the library is closed, we wanted to gather all the great free resources online. If you have any links you'd like us to add (or if any don't work anymore), please email us and we'll review them. Thank you!

 

 


 

Youth & Teen Resources

Educational Resources

  1. Babysitter Boss - a FREE YouTube series that tells you waht you need to know about Babysitting - https://www.youtube.com/c/BabysitterBoss/featured
  2. Disney Imagineering In a Box Storytelling Class - https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/hass-storytelling/imagineering-in-a-box
  3. Digital Public Library of America - https://dp.la/

  1. Google Art & Culture - https://artsandculture.google.com/

  1. Illinois Digital Archives - http://idaillinois.org/

  1. PBS Learning Media - https://www.pbslearningmedia.org/
  2. Penguin Classroom - https://www.penguinclassroom.com/

Get Up And Move Activities

Science & Technology

  1. Nature Lab - https://www.nature.org/en-us/about-us/who-we-are/how-we-work/youth-engagement/nature-lab/
  2. Science at Home with the Museum of Science and Industry - https://www.msichicago.org/science-at-home/
  3. SciStarter - https://scistarter.org/ (Citizen Science Connection)

  4. Stellarium Web Online Star Map - https://stellarium-web.org/
  5. US Volcanos and Current Activity Alerts - https://volcanoes.usgs.gov/index.html
  1. VidCode Virtual Coding Club - https://about.vidcode.com/virtual-coding-club

Storytime Alternatives

  1. Little, Brown Young Readers: Storytime with Bill - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLGGyitsqvj5Z-sVQ_btrTftbVofgE6wWG

  1. Penguin Books: Llama Llama book series read aloud - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDDMGamqbFtQaHANCUh7qpUPgRMZc6HHr

  2. Spanish Children's Stories - https://www.thespanishexperiment.com/stories (Bilingual)
  1. Storyline Online - https://www.storylineonline.net/

  1. Story Time From Space - https://storytimefromspace.com/

Virtual Field Trips

 

Youth Adult & Adult Resources

Educational Resources

  1. GFC Free Learn - https://edu.gcfglobal.org/en/

Entertainment

  1. The Kennedy Center’s Digital Stage - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeJesXuEK5ERsyh-0DvM4PQ

  2. Financial Help

Tools to Help when you Can't Pay Your Bills Article - https://www.consumerfinance.gov/about-us/blog/tools-to-help-pay-bills/

BestColleges.com's Student Loan Payments & COVID Guide - https://www.bestcolleges.com/blog/coronavirus-student-loan-suspension/

Learn a Language

Mental Health

NEW Coronovirus: Guidance for Better Mental Health Article - https://www.rehab4addiction.co.uk/coronavirus/mental-health-coronavirus

Volunteer your Time

  1. Distributed Proofreaders - https://www.pgdp.net/c/ (Transcription)

  1. DIY History - http://diyhistory.lib.uiowa.edu/(Transcription)

  1. LCH @ Home - https://lhcathome.web.cern.ch/about/volunteer-computing (Volunteer Computing)

  1. Library of Congress By The People - https://crowd.loc.gov/ (Transcription)

  1. LibriVox - https://librivox.org/ (Record public domain audiobooks)

  1. National Archives Citizen Archivist - https://www.archives.gov/citizen-archivist(Transcription)

  1. New York Public Library: Building Inspector - http://buildinginspector.nypl.org/ (Map Transcription)

  1. New York Public Library: What’s on the Menu? - http://menus.nypl.org/ (Transcription Review)

  1. Papers of the War Deparment 1784-1800 - https://wardepartmentpapers.org/s/home/page/home(Transcription)

  1. Royal BC Museum - http://transcribe.royalbcmuseum.bc.ca/(Transcription)

  1. Smithsonian Digital Volunteers - https://transcription.si.edu/ (Transcription)

  1. TED Talks Transcribe - https://www.ted.com/participate/translate/transcribe (Transcription)

  1. Transcribe Bentham - https://blogs.ucl.ac.uk/transcribe-bentham/ (Transcription)

  1. Zooniverse - https://www.zooniverse.org/about (Citizen Science)

Last updated 9/23/2020

Upcoming Programs

Richton Park Location

Friends of the Library

Join the Friends of the Library!

Meets 2nd Tuesday of the Month at 7:00PM

Next Meeting is March 9th, 2021

Email the library to join the Friends Mailing List!